The Sixth and Seventh Banknote Issues of Bangladesh

Figure 2

The State Emblem of Bangladesh, officially described as: ‘The national emblem of the Republic is the national flower Shapla (nymphœa nouchali) resting on water, having on each side an ear of paddy [rice] and being surmounted by three connected leaves of jute with two stars on each side of the leaves.’ (Part 1, 4 (3) of the Constitution of Bangladesh, which was passed by the Constituent Assembly of Bangladesh on 4 November 1972.) Reputedly, the four stars represent the four motives for independence: Nationalism, Socialism, Democracy and Secularism; while the water represents the Brahmaputra River.

© Peter Symes