The Sixth and Seventh Banknote Issues of Bangladesh

Figure 16

The National Parliament building Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban is located at Sher-e-Bangla Nagar (an area set aside for the new capital of East Pakistan by the Government of Pakistan in 1959). Commenced in 1965, the building was designed by the American architect Louis I. Kahn and is ten storeys high with a total floor space of 627,000 square feet. Taking many years to complete, and being interrupted by the War of Liberation, the building was officially opened by President Sattar on 28 January 1982 and held its first parliamentary session on 15 February 1982.

© Peter Symes